Album Review: Secrets – Everything That Got Us Here

Secrets have always been the victim of an ever changing lineup. Each of their previous two albums has featured a different screamer. Fragile Figures was easily their best material and the band showed quite a bit of promise behind the screamer/singer dynamic duo Aaron Melzer and Richard Rogers. When news broke that Aaron had left the band I was extremely disappointed. Nevertheless I was still excited to hear Everything That Got Us Here and how new frontman and screamer Wade Walters fit in.

The album kicks off with an odd  30 second accapella, barber shop-esque intro. It’s an odd choice for an intro and makes for a bit of a messy transition into the next track. Regardless props should be given to the band for going out of their comfort zone and trying something new.  “Rise Up” begins with some incredibly catchy riffs which transitions into Richard’s soaring clean vocals. The song is also the first to feature new frontman and screamer, Wade Walters. He doesn’t have the dominating presence and range that ex vocalist Aaron Melzer had but he is still a solid replacement. He rarely strays from the powerful, mid screams and surprisingly only shows up on a couple lines of the entire song. The song’s chorus is catchy but comes out cliche due to lyrical content.


“While Everything That Got Us here can feel a bit generic and bland at times, it also features some of the catchiest Secrets songs to date.”


One thing that is evident throughout is the dominance of clean vocals. I was surprised how much the screaming has been cut back on this album. It’s not to say that there is no screaming, its just not nearly as present as it was on previous releases. It is a shame because Secrets hits their stride best with the screaming and singing duality. Songs such as ” Learn To Love”, “In Loving Memory” and “The Man That Never Was” are some of the best on the album due to the incredibly catchy and fun back and forth of aggressive and melodic sounds. Some songs where Wade is absent can come across a bit bland if not for Richard’s fabulous vocals. It’s not to say that all the songs that lack screaming are bad. “For What It’s Worth” and “I’ll Be Fine” have some bouncy hooks, infectious guitar work with the final result being some great pop driven songs.

SECRETS – Rise Up (Official Music Video)

Merch: iTunes: Hold on my mother said. Don’t give up on this. Go on my lover said. You were meant for this. This is all I have. This is all I know. I could never let it go. All my life it’s filled me up with hope.

Despite Everything That Got Us Here being one of the bands weaker releases, it’s still a fun and enjoyable album. It features Secret’s signature blend of melodic catchy choruses and well crafted riffwork. While Everything That Got Us here can feel a bit generic and bland at times, it also features some of the catchiest Secrets songs to date. The album doesn’t quite have the longevity that previous releases have but it is still an album worth your time. Pick up Everything That Got Us Here Friday, December 11th on iTunes.

What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: Medium Mireille

  2. Pingback: 바카라

  3. Pingback: dragon pharma eu

  4. Pingback: Pain Relief CBD

  5. Pingback: uniccshop.bazar

  6. Pingback: xwc34rwxrw34rwc34c

  7. Pingback: bitcoin evolution

  8. Pingback: royal cbd

  9. Pingback: flashear una rom

  10. Pingback: canada pharmacy

  11. Pingback: legit dumps shop

  12. Pingback: Devops services

  13. Pingback: men's sunglasses

  14. Pingback: male wig

  15. Pingback: Sälja Rolex

  16. Pingback: pedopornografia

  17. Pingback: book a taxi online

  18. Pingback: family movie 2018

  19. Pingback: Home Appliances

  20. Pingback: canada mushrooms

  21. Pingback: bwin casino

  22. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  23. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  24. Pingback: Dank Vapes

  25. Pingback: truck battery

  26. Pingback: phenq

  27. Pingback: cbd for anxiety

  28. Pingback: cbd for dogs

  29. Pingback: best cbd gummies

  30. Pingback: best cbd oil

  31. Pingback: cbd dog treats

  32. Pingback: treats

  33. Pingback: best cbd for dogs

  34. Pingback: cbd dog treats

  35. Pingback: cbd for sale

  36. Pingback: xe88 slot

  37. Pingback: Jake

  38. Pingback: ZTE5G

  39. Pingback: Cip Sia

  40. Pingback: situs judi online

  41. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  42. Pingback: best cigar prices

  43. Pingback: taxis

  44. Pingback: 온라인홀덤

  45. Pingback: INSURANCE

  46. Pingback: dtxplatform

  47. Pingback: buy delta 8 THC

  48. Pingback: londonshemale

  49. Pingback: Click Here

  50. Pingback: check it

  51. Pingback: Kamagra opinie

  52. Pingback: damony

  53. Pingback: recettes faciles

  54. Pingback: Home Page

  55. Pingback: W88

  56. Pingback: w88vnbet

  57. Pingback: laptop disposal

  58. Pingback: double bitcoin

  59. Pingback: porn hd

  60. Pingback: watch porn online

  61. Pingback: Viagra cena

  62. Pingback:

  63. Pingback: Central License

  64. Pingback: best delta 8

  65. Pingback: vaobong88

  66. Pingback: Marijuana Gummies

  67. Pingback: student debt

  68. Pingback: foreclosure fraud

  69. Pingback: buy weed

  70. Pingback: divano

  71. Pingback: Victor Metlege

  72. Pingback: Raag Consultants

  73. Pingback: w88

  74. Pingback: Gave til hende

  75. Pingback: w88vn

  76. Pingback: 1gom7m

  77. Pingback: 1gom vaobong

  78. Pingback:

  79. Pingback: link vao sbobet

  80. Pingback: strawberry clery

  81. Pingback: Bartier Perry

  82. Pingback: ebay crypto

  83. Pingback: sàn forex

  84. Pingback: buy ssd vps

  85. Pingback: commotidies

  86. Pingback: credit repair law

  87. Pingback:

  88. Pingback: spbo live macau

  89. Pingback: leblotto

  90. Pingback: winstrol tabletki

  91. Pingback: boyama

  92. Pingback: piotrjuszczyk

  93. Pingback: exipure review

  94. Pingback: Guided-Meditation

  95. Pingback: EBIT là gì

  96. Pingback: FULokoja

  97. Pingback: 먹튀사이트

  98. Pingback: natvisa

  99. Pingback: see

  100. Pingback: mp3juice

  101. Pingback: cleaning company dubai

  102. Pingback: link

  103. Pingback: Amazon sale offers

  104. Pingback: KIU

  105. Pingback: This Site

  106. Pingback: Kshvid

  107. Pingback: Garden accessories

  108. Pingback: men 212 vip

  109. Pingback: strip chat

  110. Pingback: Bets10

  111. Pingback: free advertising

  112. Pingback: crypto ads

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up