Album Review: Vesta Collide – New Obsession

Any label is only as good as its own roster, but at the same time, a roster is only going to grow and evolve with the backing of a solid label and leadership. Atilla frontman Chris Fronzak aka Fronz knows what it takes to build a reputable brand in the music industry and has done exactly that with his budding record label Stay Sick Recordings. The label is littered with above average talent and sounds, fitting a niche that many of the old guard seem to slowly be straying away from. One such band is metalcore newcomers Vesta Collide who had only released two singles prior to their signing, which left many skeptical and unsure of what to expect from their debut album. Those fears can be subsided though as the band has managed to craft an album in New Obsession that has become just that.

[tw-toggle title=”About Vesta Collide”]
Genre: Metalcore
Label: Stay Sick Records
Release: January 20, 2017
Connect: Facebook | Twitter
Purchase: iTunes | Google Play

Digging straight into it, New Obsession is the exact step forward in sound that metalcore needs from fresh blood in the genre. Vesta Collide take what works from the staples of the genre while making it their own through the utilization of massive melodic choruses that will stay in your head for days, visceral breakdowns that get the heart pumping and haunting electronics which add in a dose of atmosphere. This results in the finished product being more extremely memorable and long lasting — surely to be an early year standout record of the genre. The overall sound is metalcore at its finest, but there’s an innate dose of variety and polish that prevent the record from ever feeling stale or repetitive.

To accomplish this, there’s a few style switches that help keep the sound from blending, such as the nu-metal tinged “I Can’t Sleep”, the haunting “Witching Hour” or the relentless “Monster Blood”. Vesta Collide even breaks out of their shell entirely with the ambient and emotional driven “Away From Here”, which gives listeners a moment of solitude from the chaos and mayhem, further showing how they are no one trick pony. Vocally, New Obsession stands atop as one of metalcore’s rising stars. The screams are the most noteworthy aspect with there being a surprising amount of variety from shrieking highs, brutal lows and ferocious mids. While the band is unquestionably metalcore they are able to keep the instrumentation fresh with engaging leads and catchy riffs. Don’t be fooled by any of this as the album is chock full of breakdowns and pulsating double bass, but at the same time each song has such a unique take to it that each sound is instrumentally differentiated.

Whether it’s the softer, somber side through soaring cleans or the heavier, hard hitting side that gets people rowdy, New Obsession is a fantastic debut that any metalcore fan should not sleep on. The record takes the best from the past while injecting enough variety into it that it’s a showcase of how to evolve on the stereotypical metalcore sound.  Looking at the overall aspect of Stay Sick Records now, it’s no wonder Vesta Collide was picked up as they look to be one of their most promising additions thus far as this record is proof that they belong and upon release, there’s no doubt that the only direction they’ll be headed is up.

What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: kampala

  2. Pingback: Dank memes

  3. Pingback: 토토사이트

  4. Pingback: Ignou reports

  5. Pingback: 안전카지노

  6. Pingback: ignou synopsis

  7. Pingback: 오피넷

  8. Pingback: this website

  9. Pingback: Geen Effect

  10. Pingback: 카지노사이트

  11. Pingback: order weed online

  12. Pingback: Whois Lookup

  13. Pingback: keluaran hk

  14. Pingback: rajapoker88

  15. Pingback: d8xc45m78oe35rm739

  16. Pingback: xwc34rwxrw34rwc34c

  17. Pingback: cbd oil

  18. Pingback: 메리트카지노

  19. Pingback: phim sex online

  20. Pingback: Bsd city

  21. Pingback: các sàn forex

  22. Pingback: dumps fullz

  23. Pingback: replicas rolex

  24. Pingback: cheap wigs

  25. Pingback: fake watches

  26. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  27. Pingback: my mega888 agent

  28. Pingback: international

  29. Pingback: Skil 2895 manuals

  30. Pingback: c34r54wxw4r34c3

  31. Pingback: FAMILY GAMES

  32. Pingback: twitter zeinab

  33. Pingback: 인싸포커

  34. Pingback: cut files

  35. Pingback: phenq funziona

  36. Pingback: cbd oil for dogs

  37. Pingback: best cbd oil

  38. Pingback: best cbd for dogs

  39. Pingback: best cbd gummies

  40. Pingback: icrate dog crate

  41. Pingback: cbd dog treats

  42. Pingback: Cip Sia

  43. Pingback: kratom tea

  44. Pingback: 31000

  45. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  46. Pingback: bake the pizza

  47. Pingback: online jewelry

  48. Pingback: taxi account

  49. Pingback: CRYPTOCURRENCY

  50. Pingback: 퍼스트카지노

  51. Pingback: adnetwork

  52. Pingback: 솔레어카지노

  53. Pingback: buy delta 8 THC

  54. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  55. Pingback: judi poker

  56. Pingback: Click Here

  57. Pingback: read more

  58. Pingback: click

  59. Pingback: damony

  60. Pingback: Kamagra opinie

  61. Pingback: read here

  62. Pingback: Healthy Skin

  63. Pingback: W88

  64. Pingback: W88

  65. Pingback: it recycling

  66. Pingback: Gengar Pendant

  67. Pingback: hospedagem de blog

  68. Pingback: senseorient

  69. Pingback: phim hiếp dâm

  70. Pingback: Weight Loss

  71. Pingback: Meet New People

  72. Pingback: w88 club

  73. Pingback: vaobong88

  74. Pingback: Tulsa Lawn Mowing

  75. Pingback: delta 8 products

  76. Pingback: Victor Metlege

  77. Pingback: Alprazolam Powder

  78. Pingback: detox tea

  79. Pingback: Pool Finish

  80. Pingback: a level

  81. Pingback: unique gift ideas

  82. Pingback: Victor Metlege

  83. Pingback: Andrea Alegre

  84. Pingback: 88vn

  85. Pingback: letou86

  86. Pingback: fb88max

  87. Pingback: 샌즈카지노

  88. Pingback: 1gom com

  89. Pingback: vaobong 1gom

  90. Pingback: keonhacai88

  91. Pingback: Mesiti

  92. Pingback: ebay crypto

  93. Pingback: viagra

  94. Pingback: 파워볼사이트

  95. Pingback: wiecej porad tutaj

  96. Pingback: adwokat olsztyn

  97. Pingback: payment gateways

  98. Pingback: lampa złote rurki

  99. Pingback: exipure scam

  100. Pingback: Meditation

  101. Pingback: 카지노먹튀

  102. Pingback: about his

  103. Pingback: Natvisa

  104. Pingback: Premium Sexpuppen

  105. Pingback: mp3juice

  106. Pingback: 폰테크

  107. Pingback: Luxury Products

  108. Pingback: site search

  109. Pingback: cleaning company dubai

  110. Pingback: check my reference

  111. Pingback: india

  112. Pingback: togel55

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up