Album Review: Of Mice & Men – Cold World

Whether fans of “core” music want to admit it or not, the audience and reach of their beloved genre and bands are incomparable to more straight edged rock and metal. That is to say that the allure of radio broadcasts, background music for sports highlights and award shows have a much wider appeal to the mainstream. This onus then places bands in precarious situations as they attempt to maintain the balance between keeping their old fanbase happy while bringing in new fans from across the globe. Metal outfit Of Mice & Men have found themselves in this situation for the past few years as their last outing, Restoring Force, saw them drift away from their metalcore sound into the realm of rock and nu-metal to high praise while drawing longtime fan disdain. Two years later, the band has returned with a follow-up as their highly anticipated new album, Cold World is set to be released. The lingering question though – does the record continue to shift further and further away from their old sound or truly embody what the band have been aiming for over the past few years?

[tw-toggle title=”About Of Mice & Men”]
Genre: Metalcore | Nu-metal
Label: Rise Records
Release: September 9, 2016
Connect: Facebook | Twitter
Purchase: iTunes | Google Play

Opening up the record is “Game of War”, which relies on the utilization of a deep and broody, yet atmospheric induced aura created via a blend of simplistic keys, subtle and building snares and a repetitive sounding guitar line. Accompanied by a softer sung, yet crooning vocal approach, one would be led to believe the intro is either relatively short or picks up halfway through – neither of which actually happen. This use of a calmer and ambient opener will leave listeners chomping at the bit for crunchy riffs, pulsating drumming and massive breakdowns, and while “The Lie” offers a bit of a ramp up in sound and harkens back to the older style that helped thrust Of Mice & Men into the spotlight, it lacks that extra oomph to push it into the memorable realm. “Real” continues showcasing the band’s confused direction as they opt for a radio-friendly rock sound that yet again, lacks any sort of memorability and leaving a sinking feeling with listeners, almost as if it was a throwaway song. That isn’t to say the aforementioned tracks, or the rest of the record isn’t worthy of being called music, but when compared to the band’s previous work, there’s a feeling of an identity crisis and it’s more prevalent than ever on Cold World.

Of Mice & Men – Pain (Official Music Video)

Merch: iTunes: I am sick of this place of death With a pace that’s set And you know the pessimistic bend Just to watch you break Practice what you preach Separate skin from the bone Digging at my flesh Like a schizophrenic with a blade Fingers tracing scars Mapping

That being said, there are moments, however brief, of a stronger, clearer focus in sound and approach, displayed prominently by the brilliant “Like A Ghost”. Not only does this track ramp up the tempo and harness one of their strongest riffs, it’s home to the best chorus and singing-screaming approach on the record. “Away” and “Transfigured”, the album’s final two songs are further examples of the capable and coherent sound that Of Mice & Men clearly want to move towards as they’re more intricately woven leading to a different sound compared to the radio friendly or nu-metal Korn and Slipknot-influenced vibes.  This is where the dilemma and the two biggest issues with the tracks that make up the entirety of Cold World lie; they either overstay their welcome by being far too long or are overly influenced by other bands coming across unoriginal, ending up on the emotionless and boring end of the spectrum. The end result is an album that lacks a true direction, underwhelming almost everyone who at one point used to enjoy the band’s output.

Of Mice & Men seemingly was lost in a forest with multiple branching paths and instead of picking one specific way, the band ventured partly into each path coming back to the initial fork. Due to this, Cold World comes across as an amalgamation of sounds and styles as it desires to be a rock, nu-metal and metalcore album all in one. The end result is a less than memorable 13 track (11 if you ignore the two interludes) that tries too hard to capture the essence that made other bands special, resulting in the band themselves losing their own identity, thus leaving a record as true as any to its name – a cold, empty and lifeless world.


What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: Arbeit Mallorca

  2. Pingback: axiolabs sustabol

  3. Pingback: buy dumps with pin

  4. Pingback: d8xc45m78oe35rm739

  5. Pingback: fake rolex

  6. Pingback: podróbka rolex

  7. Pingback: asdfsdfxcvxxasa

  8. Pingback: xwc34rwxrw34rwc34c

  9. Pingback: royal cbd

  10. Pingback: cbd oil

  11. Pingback: 메리트카지노

  12. Pingback: Loozap Comores

  13. Pingback: silencil reviews

  14. Pingback: 안전놀이터

  15. Pingback: to heathrow

  16. Pingback: in Canada

  17. Pingback: 토토사이트

  18. Pingback: sisteme de copiat

  19. Pingback: Click here

  20. Pingback: hd film izle

  21. Pingback: skincare in canada

  22. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  23. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  24. Pingback: CI/CD

  25. Pingback: c34r54wxw4r34c3

  26. Pingback: twitter app

  27. Pingback: hold'em

  28. Pingback: landscapers

  29. Pingback: phenq italy

  30. Pingback: Lovespoon

  31. Pingback: live22 apk

  32. Pingback: one vine

  33. Pingback: Jake

  34. Pingback: kratom powder

  35. Pingback: love tantra

  36. Pingback: УЗДП)

  37. Pingback: skull ring men

  38. Pingback: Superslot

  39. Pingback: crypto news

  40. Pingback: 美しい服

  41. Pingback: airport car

  42. Pingback: buy_traffic

  43. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  44. Pingback: Transsexual Sex

  45. Pingback: para kazanma

  46. Pingback: dewa jitu

  47. Pingback: get info

  48. Pingback: Click

  49. Pingback: more

  50. Pingback: click

  51. Pingback: Viagra bez recepty

  52. Pingback: read here

  53. Pingback: Kamagra

  54. Pingback: read more

  55. Pingback: d-bal

  56. Pingback: Website

  57. Pingback: hospeda meu site

  58. Pingback: slot online

  59. Pingback: Cialis

  60. Pingback: Gym

  61. Pingback: Raag Consultants

  62. Pingback: live oranum

  63. Pingback:

  64. Pingback: Delta 8

  65. Pingback: signup

  66. Pingback: exness

  67. Pingback: very hot uk deals

  68. Pingback: Weight Loss

  69. Pingback: Campaign

  70. Pingback: Gave til ham

  71. Pingback: vn88

  72. Pingback: 1gom net

  73. Pingback: fun888

  74. Pingback:

  75. Pingback: classified ads

  76. Pingback: d2r trading

  77. Pingback: Mesiti

  78. Pingback: Painters near me

  79. Pingback: speech devices

  80. Pingback: Finance

  81. Pingback: bimbim live

  82. Pingback: DailyCBD

  83. Pingback: credit repair law

  84. Pingback: 5.7x28

  85. Pingback: computers disposal

  86. Pingback:

  87. Pingback: spbo macau odds

  88. Pingback: theguter

  89. Pingback: z tego zrodla

  90. Pingback: insulinowka

  91. Pingback: exipure scam

  92. Pingback: Guided-Meditation

  93. Pingback: pg slot

  94. Pingback: #African News

  95. Pingback: Full Article

  96. Pingback: natvisa

  97. Pingback: maid service dubai

  98. Pingback: pozycjonowanie

  99. Pingback: #majordaughter

  100. Pingback: resource

  101. Pingback: dobra strona

  102. Pingback: myblogindia

  103. Pingback: login vegas338

  104. Pingback: Amazon coupon code

  105. Pingback: sexchat

  106. Pingback: free advertising

  107. Pingback: browser messenger

  108. Pingback: 먹튀검증

  109. Pingback: 출장 마사지

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up