Album Review: Silent Planet – Everything Was Sound

Mental illness is an important subject matter that consistently seems to be dismissed in modern society by people who can ultimately help those who suffer. Why this is dismissed can be linked back to a multitude of reasons, but one of the major ones is that people seem to dislike talking about it. Music is an easy way to change that baseline ideology as artists have a way to convey messages in a more sociable way. That is what Los Angeles based metalcore outfit Silent Planet have made a name for themselves doing; with their first full length telling stories through the eyes of woman protagonists about a variety of political issues throughout history. Their new record seems them tackle the aforementioned mental illness subject matter in a unique way utilizing their own educational backgrounds, experiences and musical talents. With the anticipation brimming at the rim for their sophomore release, Everything Was Sound, did the band convey the message appropriately or did it end up coming across forced?

[tw-toggle title=”About Silent Planet”]
Genre: Metalcore
Release: July 1, 2016
Label: Solid State Records
Purchase: iTunes | Google Play
Connect: Facebook | Twitter

First and foremost, this isn’t a typical concept album in the usual way bands create them. This is, as the band as appropriately stated, “13 tracks, 9 rooms, one story of madness and hope”. Each track contains a character that tackles a mental illness, such as bi-polar disorder, anxiety and fear, all the while the record contains an overarching theme to maintain a sense of cohesion. On top of tackling unique subject matter, Silent Planet have always had creative ways to deviate from the standard verse-chorus-verse-chorus” formula that over saturates today’s metalcore scene. They have taken all the strong elements of The Night God Slept and amplified them tenfold while retaining a haunting atmosphere through ambient guitar leads, crushing riffs and an overall energetic level of finesse.

As for the overall sound on the record, songs such as “Dying in Circles” and lead single “Panic Room” see the band delving into more dark, atmospheric territory while “First Father” and “Inhabit The Wound” offers the more traditional, ambient sound fans have come to expect. The variety on the album gives each song its own identity on top of the pivotal character it plays without ever feeling like filler. Frontman Garret Russel’s lyrics have much improved this time around by retaining the poetic elements from The Night God Slept while making them more coherent and relate-able. Garret also shows considerable vocal range this time around from brutal lows to almost spoken word verses,

Utilizing ambient guitar leads, crushing riffs, crunchy bass and combining them with the frantic drumming and unique idea behind the record, make Everything Was Sound a beautiful chaos. Silent Planet are firing on all cylinders with this release and show no signs of slowing down. Showing an impressive amount of maturity both lyrically and sonically, Everything Was Sound is sure to be a contender on many year end lists and leaves many wondering what theme and message they’ll attempt to convey in their music next.

What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: THC Vape Oil

  2. Pingback: keju qq

  3. Pingback: kid

  4. Pingback: 안전놀이터

  5. Pingback: xem tai day

  6. Pingback: sexo oral

  7. Pingback: canada pharmacist

  8. Pingback: omega guldklocka

  9. Pingback: scam site

  10. Pingback: fixed price taxi

  11. Pingback: sàn forex

  12. Pingback: film izle

  13. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  14. Pingback: index

  15. Pingback: montre replique

  16. Pingback: replica watches

  17. Pingback: c34r54wxw4r34c3

  18. Pingback: pawn rolex Boston

  19. Pingback: poker

  20. Pingback: Same Day Courier

  21. Pingback: Quote

  22. Pingback: best cbd gummies

  23. Pingback: buy cbd

  24. Pingback: cbd dog treats

  25. Pingback: big hammer

  26. Pingback:

  27. Pingback: 강남 안마

  28. Pingback: 강남안마

  29. Pingback: Cip Sia

  30. Pingback:

  31. Pingback: menuiserie paris

  32. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  33. Pingback: loofah sponges

  34. Pingback: skull ring silver

  35. Pingback: Study in Nigeria

  36. Pingback: Superslot

  37. Pingback: crypto brokers

  38. Pingback: dtxplatform

  39. Pingback: 샌즈카지노

  40. Pingback: delta 8 near me

  41. Pingback: Cialis cena

  42. Pingback: Viagra

  43. Pingback: profile

  44. Pingback: Intimacy

  45. Pingback: Read More

  46. Pingback: Like This

  47. Pingback: check it

  48. Pingback: super joker slot

  49. Pingback: NYC Travel Guide

  50. Pingback: W88

  51. Pingback: laptop disposal

  52. Pingback: alpha88

  53. Pingback: w88

  54. Pingback: buy weed near me

  55. Pingback: Liverpool dating

  56. Pingback: best desk chairs

  57. Pingback: Prohibition

  58. Pingback: CBD Candles

  59. Pingback: Rape porn

  60. Pingback: delta 8 moon rocks

  61. Pingback: Pool Supply

  62. Pingback: Improve Tips

  63. Pingback: Ovens

  64. Pingback:

  65. Pingback:

  66. Pingback: vn88pro

  67. Pingback: 1gom

  68. Pingback: 카지노사이트

  69. Pingback:

  70. Pingback: vao bong88

  71. Pingback: bazy danych sql

  72. Pingback: jbojbo esport

  73. Pingback: keonhacai tv

  74. Pingback: link sbobet

  75. Pingback: strawberry clery

  76. Pingback: eclassifieds

  77. Pingback: bk8 vietnam

  78. Pingback: d2r items

  79. Pingback: bet88

  80. Pingback: sàn forex

  81. Pingback: sites like ebay

  82. Pingback: Celebrity Story

  83. Pingback: Cryptocurrency

  84. Pingback: 파워볼사이트

  85. Pingback: Get More Info

  86. Pingback: huayhoon09

  87. Pingback: 69bullylotto

  88. Pingback: Read more

  89. Pingback: exipure reviews

  90. Pingback: 먹튀사이트

  91. Pingback: Check This Out

  92. Pingback: 폰테크

  93. Pingback: lighting

  94. Pingback: cleaning services dubai

  95. Pingback: moxibustion

  96. Pingback: tutaj

  97. Pingback: pozycjonowanie

  98. Pingback: poker338

  99. Pingback: kliktoko

  100. Pingback: great post to read

  101. Pingback: Meditation

  102. Pingback: Hollywood

  103. Pingback: GRAPHIC TEES

  104. Pingback: Süperbahis Kayıt

  105. Pingback: crypto ads

  106. Pingback: nasal airway

  107. Pingback: Casino Oyna

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up