Album Review: Borderlands – Voice of the Voiceless

While we typically associate the United States and Australia with progressive metalcore acts, that association is on the verge of an upheaval. Due to the massive rise and popularity of ats like Northlane, In Hearts Wake, Invent Animate and Erra, there seems to be a burning desire within musicians across the globe to take a stab at the genre. This movement is already happening as progressive metalcore act Borderlands have gained quick fanfare on the internet through a flurry of singles that live on their upcoming debut release, Voice of the Voiceless. While Portugal isn’t typically known for producing bands of this style, they want to change that and not only put their city, but their country on the map. So how does their debut stack up to such well received acts?

[tw-toggle title=”About Borderlands”]
Genre: Progressive Metal
Label: Independent
Release: June 10, 2016
Connect: Facebook | Twitter
Purchase: Physical | Amazon

There’s a sense of familiarity for many fans of progressive metalcore to be found within Voice of the Voiceless. There’s blistering riffs, sweeping leads and a great deal of melody employed throughout the album coupled with intricate guitarwork that’s almost always at a breakneck pace, hardly slowing down. Vocalist Rui Martin utilizes a brutal and low scream throughout and rarely deviates from his signature style. It adds an element of unrelenting heaviness and chaos when accompanied by the frantic and intricate instrumentation. The drumming provides a solid backbone throughout keeping up with the technicality from the other band members while maintaining lightning quick footwork which is necessary to keep up with the overall speed Borderlands employs in their music.

Borderlands – Children Of The Sun (Official Music Video)

‘Children Of The Sun’ is taken from the new Borderlands album ‘Voice Of The Voiceless’ – OUT NOW! Buy it: CD & Merch bundles: Bandcamp: Facebook – Twitter – Instagram – Video by Harakiri – Mixed & Mastered by Nicolas Delestrade at NDSE Recordings.

Where the band excels most and shines brightest is in their more melodic and atmospheric side. Songs such as “Essencia” and “Children of Sun” are standouts on the album and show off the bands ability to transition between chaos and groovy, melodic notes at the flick of the wrist. Some of the more heavy songs tend to blend together and might be hard to differentiate from for the more casual listener, and that will most likely turn some off. It’s by no means a bad album, especially for the more hardcore fans of the genre, but due to the shortness of the album and a solid, but uninspired sound, there isn’t much longevity to be found. Borderlands showcases flashes of greatness throughout the album and its evident that they have potential which will assuredly shine through as the band grows and creates more music.


What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: seo course

  2. Pingback: 안전바카라

  3. Pingback:

  4. Pingback: tutoring services

  5. Pingback: Scannable

  6. Pingback: nha cai so de

  7. Pingback: macca úc

  8. Pingback: mega888

  9. Pingback: nutravesta proven

  10. Pingback: free porn video

  11. Pingback: running sunglasses

  12. Pingback: podcast transcript

  13. Pingback: replica rolex

  14. Pingback: sisteme de copiat

  15. Pingback: top sàn forex

  16. Pingback: canadian pharmacy

  17. Pingback: KIU-Library

  18. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  19. Pingback: my mega888 account

  20. Pingback: Agueda Heidecker

  21. Pingback: stakexchain

  22. Pingback: human hair

  23. Pingback: mega888 joker

  24. Pingback: wigs for women

  25. Pingback: c34r54wxw4r34c3

  26. Pingback: cbd for anxiety

  27. Pingback: cty capath

  28. Pingback: best cbd oil

  29. Pingback: best cbd oil

  30. Pingback: cbd oil

  31. Pingback: ZTE

  32. Pingback: 강남 안마

  33. Pingback:

  34. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  35. Pingback: buy ethereum

  36. Pingback: TRADING

  37. Pingback: sell_traffic

  38. Pingback: delta 8 near me

  39. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  40. Pingback: read my site

  41. Pingback: ยิงปลา

  42. Pingback: click

  43. Pingback: check it

  44. Pingback: read more

  45. Pingback: check it

  46. Pingback: Cialis cena

  47. Pingback: joker88net

  48. Pingback: friend exposed

  49. Pingback: W88

  50. Pingback:

  51. Pingback: book transfer

  52. Pingback: it disposal

  53. Pingback: satta matka

  54. Pingback: alpha88

  55. Pingback: hospedagem de site

  56. Pingback: Fada do sexo

  57. Pingback: Cialis

  58. Pingback: malaysia slots

  59. Pingback: Weight Loss

  60. Pingback: kang te reja

  61. Pingback: fblink88vn

  62. Pingback:

  63. Pingback: computer recycling

  64. Pingback: thùng giấy

  65. Pingback: signup

  66. Pingback: exness

  67. Pingback: bachelor's degree

  68. Pingback: very hot uk deals

  69. Pingback: best floor mats

  70. Pingback: dyson

  71. Pingback: press release

  72. Pingback: Marble Hash

  73. Pingback: Real love spells

  74. Pingback: Microwaves

  75. Pingback: Victor Metlege

  76. Pingback: w88 vn

  77. Pingback: nha cai jbo

  78. Pingback: m88 link

  79. Pingback: Pat Mesiti

  80. Pingback: Funny Story

  81. Pingback: crypto news

  82. Pingback: kupaonska ogledala

  83. Pingback: free email blast

  84. Pingback: bimbim

  85. Pingback: Eclipse c++

  86. Pingback: free credit repair

  87. Pingback: missing adult

  88. Pingback: Albanian pedophile

  89. Pingback:

  90. Pingback: spbo macauslot

  91. Pingback: missing child

  92. Pingback: brighton cabs

  93. Pingback: exipure review

  94. Pingback: 출장마사지

  95. Pingback: slot joker

  96. Pingback: link

  97. Pingback: Natvisa

  98. Pingback: mp3juice

  99. Pingback: 폰테크

  100. Pingback: epilepsy

  101. Pingback: pozycjonowanie

  102. Pingback: internet

  103. Pingback:

  104. Pingback: daftar asg55

  105. Pingback: college dorm party

  106. Pingback: Amazon sale offers

  107. Pingback: Boston painters

  108. Pingback: Herts Decorators

  109. Pingback: Okey Siteleri

  110. Pingback: International News

  111. Pingback: Soap dispenser

  112. Pingback: IT Services Sussex

  113. Pingback: Bahis Siteleri

  114. Pingback: Süperbahis Giriş

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up