Album Review: Gates – Parallel Lives

In 2014, a band known as Gates marked their formal entry into the scene with their debut album, Bloom & Breathe. The album stood out for two major reasons; one being that it was released under Pure Noise Records, a predominantly pop-punk label. The second reason is that it was a 13-track album that displayed a carefully crafted, detailed sound of soaring atmospheric soundscapes utilizing a peculiar mix of post-rock, emo and post hardcore; elements that aren’t typically combined together. Yet again, here we are almost 18 months later and the quintet is back at it with their sophomore release, Parallel Lives. The album name was inspired by the thought of seeing different people on the streets and never knowing who they really are; the idea of two lines (or lives) always meeting, but never crossing. With that idea set in stone, the band set out to overcome any potential sophomore slump and improve on where they failed before.

[tw-toggle title=”About Gates”]
Genre: Post-Rock, Indie Rock, Post Hardcore
Label: Pure Noise Records
Release: June 3, 2016
Connect: Facebook | Twitter
Purchase: MerchNow | iTunes

The album starts off with what Gates knows best, the harmonious sounds of synths. Utilizing these, there’s a brief solitude in sound before drums and a somber piano join along. Capitalizing on the atmosphere, airy vocals enter the fray and show off the fully-encompassed sound the band has become known for. While they are showcasing their signature style within the first few tracks, Parallel Lives shows a side the band hadn’t quite explored with their previous work. Going beyond their initial comfort zone, there’s richer sounds due to the utilization of a variety of instruments and shorter runtimes giving the tracks a much more impactful and longer lasting feeling. From the slower, piano led “Fade” to the more upbeat “Penny”, there’s an exemplary amount of uniqueness to each piece of music that makes up the overall album while still retaining semblances of the subdued atmosphere from the debut.

Gates “Habit” Official Music Video

CD/Vinyl/Merch: iTunes: Listen on Spotify: Emo-ish Playlist: Facebook: Twitter: Habit Lyrics: pull you in like the smoke from a first drag feel you burning like fire in my chest all of you lingering in light before I breathe you in again we are all that I swore would never happen and still you devour me like a habit embraced like a burden kept close I draw you in me and let you go love only lingers if you let it go

While some releases tend to live on the edge of a few singles and a large majority of fillers, Parallel Lives strays away from that as best as possible. For those who are looking for standout tracks to showcase Gates best, “Shiver” is the recommended go to song.  This is due to having one of the more, shiver inducing moments on the album as the song’s bridge is elevated through a barrage of synths and desperate proclamations from vocalist Kevin Dye. These kind of cathartic moments are found in abundance throughout the full runtime of the album and truly showcase the band’s desire to elevate their lush atmospheric sound to another level while being able to deliver hard-hitting, emotional moments. The title track, “Parallel Lives” serves as the album’s closer and brings the album’s theme full circle as pulsating digital drums and guitars build up to the line ‘’All we seem to be are parallel lives caught crossing’’. This simplistic lyric assuredly holds a special place within the band’s core, since the five members were complete strangers, living in distant states in the US before their lives somehow intertwined and formed the band.

Gates “Empty Canvas”

CD/Vinyl/Merch: iTunes: Listen on Spotify: Emo-ish Playlist: Facebook: Twitter: Empty Canvas Lyrics I see myself in you, reflected you try to reproduce what I did you trace my pattern trying to be candid but all that you create is not quite right you draw

With Parallel Lives, we see Gates not only build off of what they created with Bloom & Breathe, but wholeheartedly expand on it. Featuring new ideas, new sounds and a progressive push forward while maintaining the semblance for who they are at the deepest levels, the album showcases the next logical step forward for the band.

What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: m88 viet

  2. Pingback: google

  3. Pingback: 안전카지노

  4. Pingback: emergency plumber

  5. Pingback: uniccshop.bazar

  6. Pingback: dg casino

  7. Pingback:

  8. Pingback: brokerreview scam

  9. Pingback: pedopornografia

  10. Pingback:

  11. Pingback: film izle

  12. Pingback: reviews canada

  13. Pingback: star casino

  14. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  15. Pingback: my mega888 plus

  16. Pingback: fake rolex

  17. Pingback: Lakiesha Browner

  18. Pingback: AXBDOLL

  19. Pingback: silkhair

  20. Pingback: mega888 archer

  21. Pingback: bmo canada

  22. Pingback: Pound of Weed

  23. Pingback: human hair wigs

  24. Pingback: pawn rolex Boston

  25. Pingback: 원샷홀덤

  26. Pingback: Picture quotes

  27. Pingback: best cbd gummies

  28. Pingback: best cbd gummies

  29. Pingback: cty capath

  30. Pingback: dogs

  31. Pingback: buy cbd oil

  32. Pingback: 강남안마

  33. Pingback: 강남 안마

  34. Pingback: cooling wristband

  35. Pingback: vitrier paris

  36. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  37. Pingback: loofah

  38. Pingback: pussy

  39. Pingback: skull ring men

  40. Pingback: Superslot

  41. Pingback: コート

  42. Pingback: survival garden

  43. Pingback: 샌즈카지노

  44. Pingback: sm카지노

  45. Pingback: check it

  46. Pingback: click

  47. Pingback: check it

  48. Pingback: read here

  49. Pingback: slot star 99

  50. Pingback: Cialis

  51. Pingback: click this

  52. Pingback: W88

  53. Pingback:

  54. Pingback: chlid seat policy

  55. Pingback: laptop recycling

  56. Pingback: satta matka

  57. Pingback: free porn movie

  58. Pingback: wooden watches

  59. Pingback: Kamagra opinie

  60. Pingback: music shqip

  61. Pingback:

  62. Pingback: computer recycling

  63. Pingback: w88 club

  64. Pingback: THC Gummies

  65. Pingback: share

  66. Pingback: buy weed

  67. Pingback: buy weed

  68. Pingback: best deals

  69. Pingback: delta 8 moon rocks

  70. Pingback: Raag Consultants

  71. Pingback: Tripod

  72. Pingback: Portrættegning

  73. Pingback: Victor Metlege

  74. Pingback: Andrea Alegre

  75. Pingback: 카지노사이트

  76. Pingback: fun88vnn

  77. Pingback: Bartier Perry

  78. Pingback: History

  79. Pingback: 5.7x28

  80. Pingback: computer recycling

  81. Pingback: 69bullylotto

  82. Pingback: ng/dl

  83. Pingback: panda boyama

  84. Pingback: online print shop

  85. Pingback: payment gateways

  86. Pingback: 홀덤 사이트

  87. Pingback: pg slot

  88. Pingback: 슬롯먹튀

  89. Pingback: content

  90. Pingback: 폰테크

  91. Pingback: static website

  92. Pingback: useful source

  93. Pingback: #ReligiousFreedom

  94. Pingback: login 128sports

  95. Pingback: KIU

  96. Pingback: explanation

  97. Pingback: CUSTOM TEES

  98. Pingback: Poker Siteleri

  99. Pingback: sexchat

  100. Pingback:

  101. Pingback: Süperbahis Giriş

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up