Album Review: Real Friends: The Home Inside My Head

Living up to expectations people place upon you is a hard thing for anyone, so imagine the pressure that was laid upon Illinois pop punk outlet Real Friends with their debut album, Maybe This Place Is the Same and We’re Just Changing in 2014. From being included to a multitude of most anticipated lists and the constant badgering from fans, the release had a lot to live up to — and it ultimately did. The album sold extremely well and charted at number 24 on the Billboard 200 while a multitude of singles were nominated for awards and included in year end lists. With such high expectations met, that only meant even higher ones for the next album. Fast forward to 2016 and we’re about to see the next release from the group with The Home Inside My Head. With sophomore albums being so hit or miss and the pivotal point of progression in musicality and identity, the hope from fans is that they hit another one out of the park. The question that needs immediate answering — where do they fall with their sophomore release?

As a standalone record and equally as a sophomore one, The Home Inside My Head is a huge step forward for the band. While it has initial elements of familiarity which reassures they haven’t completely abandoned their roots, the band manages to deliver a more evolved and mature sound, both sonically and lyrically. In the past, Real Friends have approached a subject matter that dealt almost exclusively with pain and loss. This time around, they have pursued more positive themes that don’t dwell on the loss and hopelessness aspects of life, but ones that talk about moving on. That isn’t to say they have completely ditched their emo roots as tracks like “Keep Lying to Me”, “Scared To Be Alone” and “Eastwick” are reminiscent of their earlier material.

Real Friends – Mokena

ITUNES: Taken from the new album ‘The Home Inside My Head’ available now. Video by Sam Halleen. Stay connected:

From the perspective of instrumentation, the band have stepped it up quite remarkably. Utilizing more memorable and catchier riffs, guitarists Eric Haines and Dave Knox let their talent shine throughout the entirety of the album. This is showcased most admirably on the faster paced tracks, “Door Without a Key” and “Keep Lying to Me”. Brian Blake’s drumming is better than ever and helps carry the musicality contained with the album forward. Vocally, Dan Lambton offers a similar range and style found on previous material so fans who are familiar have no need to fret. To offset the lack of changes, a continued strong vocal presence and delivery persists throughout and helps Lambton show off some of the bands catchiest choruses yet. Furthermore, one of his greatest strengths is the emotion and passion that is on display when he sings as showcased on tracks like “Empty Picture Frames” and “Stay In One Place”.

Comparing it to such a successful debut is a hard thing to do, but after several listens it feels as if there are very few things The Home Inside My Head doesn’t improve on in comparison. While it can be stated that many of the familiar Real Friends elements are still present, they ultimately raised the bar enough to deliver a more cohesive and well rounded sound. Making more approachable music from a lyrical standpoint while ratcheting up the instrumentation that drives the music, this is an album that is not only catchier, but more emotionally charge and lyrically diverse. This is a release that should attract new fans with its progression while retaining old ones with its maturity and assuredly, that is what any artist strives to do with their next project. Be sure to pick up The Home Inside My Head


What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: 안전카지노

  2. Pingback: How to lose weight

  3. Pingback: พิโก

  4. Pingback: xwc34rwxrw34rwc34c

  5. Pingback: 토토사이트

  6. Pingback: karlsruhe

  7. Pingback:

  8. Pingback: canada skin care

  9. Pingback:

  10. Pingback: cheap hotels

  11. Pingback: free porn video

  12. Pingback: sisteme de copiat

  13. Pingback: sàn forex

  14. Pingback: hd film izle

  15. Pingback: film izle

  16. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  17. Pingback: silk hair

  18. Pingback: great post to read

  19. Pingback: lace front wigs

  20. Pingback: c34r54wxw4r34c3

  21. Pingback: joker apk 2021

  22. Pingback: 인싸포커

  23. Pingback: lowest price

  24. Pingback: capath

  25. Pingback: xe88

  26. Pingback: one vine

  27. Pingback: ZTE5G

  28. Pingback: 강남 안마

  29. Pingback: Cipsia

  30. Pingback: kratom capsules

  31. Pingback: t-shirt for men

  32. Pingback: pussy

  33. Pingback: skull ring men

  34. Pingback: ethereum price

  35. Pingback: Sextia gens

  36. Pingback: carie torino

  37. Pingback: INVESTMENT

  38. Pingback: survival garden

  39. Pingback: 실시간카지노

  40. Pingback: Aaron Lal

  41. Pingback: ts escorts UK

  42. Pingback: หวย

  43. Pingback: check it

  44. Pingback: panacea pharmacy

  45. Pingback: read more

  46. Pingback: read here

  47. Pingback: read more

  48. Pingback: Viagra bez recepty

  49. Pingback: 918kiss slot auto

  50. Pingback: Look At This

  51. Pingback: bestuurbare auto

  52. Pingback: LGW to brighton

  53. Pingback: Men's Bling Watch

  54. Pingback: slot online

  55. Pingback: watch porn online

  56. Pingback: Kamagra opinie

  57. Pingback: Personal Training

  58. Pingback:

  59. Pingback: oranum

  60. Pingback: Kitsap Daily News

  61. Pingback: share

  62. Pingback: Top Personal Coach

  63. Pingback: student debt

  64. Pingback: foreclosure fraud

  65. Pingback: cookware best

  66. Pingback: ash wood

  67. Pingback: Whiskey

  68. Pingback: Victor Metlege

  69. Pingback: slim tea

  70. Pingback: delta 8 moon rocks

  71. Pingback: Pool Finish

  72. Pingback: w88club

  73. Pingback: Karikatur

  74. Pingback:

  75. Pingback: keo nha cai

  76. Pingback: sbobet

  77. Pingback: d2r resurrected

  78. Pingback: amazon crypto

  79. Pingback: Painters Austin

  80. Pingback: buy bulk sms

  81. Pingback: igračke sarajevo

  82. Pingback: Insurance

  83. Pingback: live sex

  84. Pingback: Eclipse c++

  85. Pingback:

  86. Pingback: fn 5.7

  87. Pingback: missing adult

  88. Pingback: spbo live macau

  89. Pingback: cornerlotto

  90. Pingback: gniazdka viko

  91. Pingback: 홀덤 사이트

  92. Pingback: painters austin tx

  93. Pingback: 먹튀사이트

  94. Pingback: AKNANCE

  95. Pingback: pterygium

  96. Pingback: site here

  97. Pingback: fish with big lips

  98. Pingback:

  99. Pingback: Painter in Herts

  100. Pingback: Manifesting

  101. Pingback: click here

  102. Pingback: Canlı Blackjack

  103. Pingback: Bets10 Apk

  104. Pingback: crypto ATM

  105. Pingback: shower hose

  106. Pingback: Süperbahis Kayıt

  107. Pingback: 토토사이트

  108. Pingback: nose strips

  109. Pingback: events

  110. Pingback:

  111. Pingback:

  112. Pingback:

  113. Pingback: top ira funds

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up