Album Review: Parkway Drive – Ire

Parkway Drive is a band that has never been afraid to think outside of the box. This has been one of the many reasons they’ve risen to be one of the most recognizable and noteworthy bands in the 12 years they’ve been on the metalcore scene. With every record released they are always progressing and Parkway has always been willing to experiment in ways that others in the genre wouldn’t dare to brave. Up until recently this could be heard mostly on their 2012 album, ‘Atlas‘. This album set a solid precedent for depth and diversity on a metalcore album. There were violins, cellos, a piano, and even a turntable (the latter of which wasn’t something entirely new for a band like this to use, but was so in such a way that accented the song “The Slow Surrender” so perfectly) which were welcome and beautifully set against the typical instruments on an album such as this. But a group like Parkway Drive, does not stop there. They go back to the drawing board to figure out what creative and unique twist they’ll devise in their musical lab for their next endeavor.

“Isn’t it funny how such an angry album can make me so happy?”

This brings us to their 2015 masterpiece, Ire. Yet again these Australian lads have ripped apart the typical notions of what a metalcore record should sound like, and shown the world that metalcore doesn’t have to be all blast beats, chugs, and breakdowns. With Ire they go beyond that. They have guitar solos, classic rock inspired riffs and anthem style gang vocals that are sure to get the crowd going. Don’t let this fool you into thinking that this album isn’t also very aggressive. Winston’s iconic growls are very present on the album and Parkway Drive still bring the heavy.

The definition of Ire means anger, an emotion which is felt clearly throughout the record, yet with an abundance of vigor and complexity. There’s a sense of yearning for more, never settling for what spoon-fed bullshit the masses try to pile on day in and day out. This can be heard on a song like “Vice Grip“, when vocalist Winston McCall triumphantly screams “Get up! Get up! One life, one shot! Give it all you got! Keep The Flame Alive!” This song does a perfect job of expressing that strong pissed off, yet positive vibe it’s trying to represent. The song “Writings On The Wall” added another device to an ever-growing repertoire with the closest we’ve heard Winston to cleans yet, with a mixture of spoken/growled deliverance. If you’re feeling truly furious though, and you need to perfect theme song to smash your parents favorite china to, then toss on “Dying To Believe“, which has one of my favorite lyrics off the entire record (and I’m sure I’m not alone in this…), “Motherfucker tell me how the hell do you sleep at night?!”.

Every single time I think the boys in Parkway Drive can’t top their last release they prove me wrong time and time again. ‘Ire‘ is one of the most well executed albums from this band yet, and the more I listen to it, the more I’m impressed and hear a new side to each song. Isn’t it funny how such an angry album can make me so happy?

Parkway Drive – “Crushed”

Listen to the full album: “Crushed” by Parkway Drive from the album ‘IRE,’ out now! Produced by George Hadjichristou Video by Ambitious Films: Order on iTunes: Order CD and vinyl: Facebook: Instagram: Lyrics Brothers, my brothers. Is this all that we are Sisters, my sisters.


What Are Your Thoughts!

0 0


  1. Pingback: d8xc45m78oe35rm739

  2. Pingback: click here

  3. Pingback: mcedit 1.14

  4. Pingback: windows

  5. Pingback: about canada

  6. Pingback: proven

  7. Pingback: Roberto Badalotti

  8. Pingback: running sunglasses

  9. Pingback: joker123 apk

  10. Pingback: Revenge porn

  11. Pingback: film izle

  12. Pingback: film izle

  13. Pingback: star casino

  14. Pingback: DH168

  15. Pingback: c34r54wxw4r34c3

  16. Pingback: my sources

  17. Pingback: sbobet malaysia

  18. Pingback: t-shirts text

  19. Pingback: cty capath

  20. Pingback: budgie food

  21. Pingback: billing software

  22. Pingback: cbd for dogs

  23. Pingback: JakeGeruson

  24. Pingback: Investment

  25. Pingback: 강남 안마

  26. Pingback: Cip Sia

  27. Pingback: bad practice

  28. Pingback: skull ring

  29. Pingback: 트루모아

  30. Pingback: brighton taxis

  31. Pingback: buy delta 8 THC

  32. Pingback: read here

  33. Pingback: read more

  34. Pingback: read more

  35. Pingback: check it

  36. Pingback: thedamony

  37. Pingback: Mesiti

  38. Pingback: Viagra bez recepty

  39. Pingback: Financial Help

  40. Pingback: recette

  41. Pingback: W88vnbet

  42. Pingback: W88

  43. Pingback: satta matka

  44. Pingback: slot online

  45. Pingback: porn movie medio

  46. Pingback: fblink88vn

  47. Pingback:

  48. Pingback: best delta 8

  49. Pingback: club w88

  50. Pingback: bong88link

  51. Pingback: Observer

  52. Pingback: free

  53. Pingback: Seek Hash

  54. Pingback: foreclosure fraud

  55. Pingback: buy weed

  56. Pingback: weed near me

  57. Pingback: email

  58. Pingback: Flash Disk

  59. Pingback: letou8868

  60. Pingback: fun8802

  61. Pingback: bk8vn

  62. Pingback: 1gom1

  63. Pingback: Entertainment

  64. Pingback: Austin Painters

  65. Pingback: Forex news

  66. Pingback: Celebrity Story

  67. Pingback: best seo services

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up